Gear Drive CH:17

Gears moving in the forest

────Ki ~yururururururururu!

It’s like I’m flowing through the forest.

There is not as much vibration as before.

The gears spinning in my feet now do not have many teeth.

It is fixed to my foot through the intermediary of several small gears.

When I climbed up on the roof this evening, I used the gear as a foothold, as if it were a staircase.

I thought that the gears are not fixed as if they were frozen in space. Maybe they are solidifying the air, like rubber.

I think that assumption has now been proven.

My feet now have a mechanism to suppress the vibration of the wheels.

«────Analysis complete.»

Shock absorption rate: 82 Paseltelji.

Suggest improvements to suspension mechanism.»

«Hey! What’s a suspension? I’ll just leave it to you!»

«────Ready.

This is due to the shock absorber effect.

Expand the coil mechanism.»

Kin! 

A sound was heard, and small gears were added to the foot.

Five gears, each about the diameter of my wrist, lined up in a cylindrical shape.

Beyond that, a gear the size of the palm of my hand. No impact at all.

Every time it touches the ground, it shrinks or stretches.

……Amazing.

I can run through the forest so fast.

I don’t think any other magic can do that.

No fire magic, no water magic, no earth magic.

I think wind magic might be a little better.

There’s a huge rock in front of me. It’s a big slope.

It’s possible to climb it?

Using the springs in my legs, I jump up with both feet.

«~Tsu! Ttoi!»

I landed on a rock, slid across the surface of the rock like a stream, and went airborne.

It’s a long way to the ground. It’s a little scary.

I attach myself to the tree beside me with the gear wheels of my left hand and left foot.

Gyuiiin!

Rotate left around the tree trunk, toward the ground.

«Ow!»

Just before the ground. Twisting my body, I kick the tree trunk with my right foot.

The momentum of the rotation does not die, and the body is thrown sideways.

I see a small rock face on the ground ahead.

I hit it with the gear wheel of my right hand and raise my upper body.

The rotation of both feet slowly grounds me on the ground.

«Ha, ha, ha.»

What is this? I’m a little tired.

How did this happen? It’s amazing.

The inside of the forest is bumpy. There are fallen leaves.

The ground is rotten, there are tree roots, and the drop-offs at the ends of the rocks are terrible.

People can’t move fast here.

That’s why they build roads in every region.

But what about me?

Why was I, who had been a manaless kid until just a days ago, charging through the forest like I was going to blow up?

The common sense in me was collapsing.

Trees are accelerators.

Rocks are launch pads.

High steps are shortcuts.

Gear teeths often collides with the ground.

I don’t understand the point of stopping.

In front of me, a crack.

I might as well call it a cliff now.

To the side, a wall of rocks covered in moss.

Without hesitation, I plunged shoulder-first into the wall.

Normally, I would have crashed into the wall and fallen to my death.

But don’t worry.

The rotation of my arms and feet catches the wall and pushes me forward.

I glanced at it, but it was more like a cliff, a valley of about 10 meru.

I jumped over it. Rock fragments bounced off in various places.

My hands and feet,

They roared with the,

Spinning gears.

On my arms and feet,

A golden ring,

Looking like an armor.

Anything it touches will be bounced off.

«────Analysis complete.

Confirming order standard met.

Ready to register as standard device.

──────Would you like to register with a unique name?»

Again, you’re using a difficult word…….

«I don’t know! Crown! Think the name yourself!»

«──────Confirmed acceptance. Calculation in progress……..

────Movement Device: Distance Slip has been set.»

Illustration (By Mitemin)
Author Illustration. https://19609.mitemin.net/i235518/

«Distance slip! Hahaha! Crown, you have no sense of naming!»

Distance Slip. That’s a lame name for a technique!

«────Complaint filed by Crown Gear.»

«Oh, well, that’s all right, no sulking, no sulking!»

This will get us there in no time at all.

«Distance.»

«────Analysis complete. 340 meru to the center of the fire.

326, 312, 298……..»

I’m almost there.

Uta and Anna will be close, but surely Berg Bear is near the flames too.

It’s dangerous, but I’ve come too far to retreat now.

Besides, at this speed, there’s a good chance I’ll be able to escape back if I find them first.

Gathering my courage, I instructed my partner.

«Crown, slow down, stop spinning, supress the noise, and I’ll start looking for them.

«────Ready.

──────Expanding the search field.»

Deja un comentario