Gear Drive CH:25

The gatekeeper is still an old man ①

My name is Torne Krieger.

I’m the old man gatekeeper of this city of Cardiff.

When I say «old man,» I mean me.

Hmm.

I’ve been in this city a long time, but there’s been a major incident since the city was founded.

A Berg Bear has been spotted.

Four years ago, when the Wolves invaded the city, there was an uproar.

That time, we were able to defeat it relatively quickly with the help of our men and a peculiar thunder magician who happened to be in Donios. We weren’t much help, though.

This time, however, the degree of caution was different.

Of course, wolves are also dangerous monsters when they gather together.

They are weak, so they flock. That’s the trouble with them.

But the Berg Bear is different.

They don’t flock. That’s because they’re strong.

It’s a monster that a C-rank adventurer can defeat in a party.

I guess it would be easier to say that my strength is just barely above D rank. But I’m still one of the better players in town.

It was spotted in the bushes along the road at the northeast entrance.

……Hey, it’s not even 400 meru.

There was an inmediate notice, and the gates closed about two deca earlier than usual today.

I’m sure I’ll be up all night guarding the gates and dealing with the extra merchants that have arrived from outside. Damn, I should have forced myself to eat at Derek’s restaurant during the day.

I’ve known Derek for a long time. We’ve known each other for a long time, ever since he was a coal miner. I didn’t expect him to win Sora over…… I was happy to see him as a friend, but at the same time I was shocked to see the difference between her and my own wife.

…….Weird, Derek is heading towards here.

At this time of night, he’s probably asleep or at home eating a snack. I’m sure they’ve finished their preparations.

It’s rare to see him outside. Her blond hair stands out in the moonlight.

Why’s he with his only daughter, An?

What’s the hurry……?

«What’s up, Derek?……An, and Log? What is it? With two kids at this time.»

«……….Torne, there are two kids out there. It’s Uta and Anna.»

«…………Please tell me you’re lying, Derek.»

The moment I heard Derek’s words, my mind went completely blank.

This guy would never tell a lie that would hurt someone.

I knew right away that Derek was not joking.

Even so……… it was still something I had to doubt.

«The gate was closed! No one’s out!»

«They used the water gate. Log says so.»

What……..

«Fuck! Konobo! Get as many men as you can from the stockade! And oil! We’ll search them!»

I quickly call out to the young apprentice.

The water gate certainly closes until the very end.

That means they got out before then!

But it must have been at least three or four deca since the first check. Oh, man, they could be a long way off.

────That’s when I was thinking about that.

…….Guooooooooo………

Berg, Bear.

«Stop it, stop it. I haven’t had a drink today.»

This is a bad dream.

«The search has been cancelled.»

«Tell me why.»

Derek said, prompting an answer.

«We cannot use fire in the search.»

«What’s wrong with that?»

«If it was a Wolf, it would run if it sees fire. But not Berg Bear. Fire is just a landmark for him. He’ll definitely eat us before we finds Uta and Anna.»

«But……»

«So what……»

It was Anti, who was standing next to Derek, who added her voice.

«So what?! Two kids! You know they’re out there, and you just shut the gate and don’t even know it! Uncle! You’re the gatekeeper, aren’t you! So! Are you okay with that!»

She shouted at me, tears in her eyes.

This guy grew up with straight roots, just like Derek.

But I’m the gatekeeper, you know.

I have to make the choice to protect people, even if it means hardening my heart.

I explained.

I explained that the Berg bear would find the city by torchlight.

Once he’s found a place to eat, he’ll move from there.

In any case, at noon, the gates and some of the flow of people will be seen…….

«So, that’s why.……»

«What are you going to do?»

Derek asked me to respond.

«The search for the forest will only provoke it. And we’re weak. If he sees us, he’ll eat us. I’ll send a messenger to Donios. The voice is coming from a small mountain deep in the forest. The road should still be passable from he

It took the northeast road that was sighted and went around to the northwest forest…….

Now we might be able to send a messenger without the Berg Bear knowing the entrance to the city.

«Can we search in the morning?»

«……Difficult. The best armor in this city is only two hampers of orc leather armor. I can’t tell my men to go to their sure death. I can only hope Uta and Anna are hiding out until we can call the adventurers from Donios.»

I was embarrassed to be saying this, I thought to myself.

I’m the gatekeeper, and I’ve been guarding this city my whole life.

Pray, for example.

What an excuse for leaving things to others, for being so selfish, for being so helpless, for being so disgusting.

I’m weak.

Derek probably sensed my frustration.

He immediately called out to his daughter.

«Anti, Log, go home.»

«But!»

«Go home!»

Anti looked like she wanted to say something, but Derek’s expression got the better of her and she went with Log.

«……Sorry, Derek. I’m…….»

«Torne. I trust your skills as a gatekeeper, and the only reason no one died that day four years ago was because you were in this city. You guided the wolves, directed the evacuation route. The right way to hide. This city owes you a debt of gratitude.»

«…………»

«There are times when you have no choice.»

Even Derek, Anna, Uta and Ante are like my family.

They have been like siblings to me since they were babies.

«Sorry…….»

«……..Send a messenger to Donios.»

I’m helpless. When I was young, I tried to be an adventurer, and I went many places. And I failed. To be honest, I may have run away from this city.

But even though I couldn’t make my dream come true, I came here thinking that with the knowledge I’ve gained, there are people I can protect.……

«……Torne.»

«What, Derek?»

I was pretty frustrated right now.

I need to decide who’s going to Donios.

At that moment, Derek called out to me and pointed.

«Look at that…….»

«!────It’s on fire?»

I could definitely see the fire in the middle of the mountain.

Un comentario sobre “Gear Drive CH:25

  1. Hi there. I just came across your translation of Gear Drive. Would you consider continuing it? I was originally hoping for the LN to continue so I could buy more of the official release, bit it doesn’t seem like that’s going to happen now.

    If you don’t want to continue, would you be able to point me in the direction of the WN raws instead? Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated.

    Me gusta

Deja un comentario